I am always meaning to indulge in these Gardener’s World offers in the magazines, but for some reason I always leave it too late, and I never get around to doing things. Not this month. No No. They were offering 160 ‘free’ spring-flowering bulbs (£4.50 for postage). It’s an absolute bargain in my eyes. And of course, the deals are going through Thompson and Morgan still, so it gave me a good opportunity to take a look at the new shop website. I placed my order, and looked at the other Gardener’s World offers they had in place. None of them were particularly ground-breaking, I’ve seen most of these plants on offer before, and I’ve seen them elsewhere cheaper still. However, they still had on offer their Allium collection.

 

Now anyone who knows me, knows I love alliums. I honestly believe that it is my favourite plant of the entire growing year. Just as the tulips are dying down and I’m placing my faith in the summer bedding, the alliums start to burst open and fill my beds with firecrackers. Okay, well I don’t have that many of them at the moment, having only three bulbs (!!!) in one of my flower beds. But, with this deal, I’ll now have the firecracker effect I’ve been wanting for ages. I look forward to receiving both these collections in the post before November, ready for planting out.

But that’s not all. Yup, anyone who knows me well will know that I can’t just buy a special offer without looking around a little more. I’ve already got a huge delivery of our vegetable seeds for next year, but seeing the blank spots that have presented themselves in the flower borders thi syear has reminded me just how badly I need to plant out hardy annuals in order to keep the garden looking fresh and colourful. I have lots of perennials and bulbs every year, but last year the annuals really made the garden feel special and cheerful. So I bought a couple of cheap annual seeds ready to sow in the gaps in the borders next spring.

