Perfectly Podded Peas

We’ve been harvesting peas for some time now (we’re growing Kelvedon wonder) and we have certainly reaped the benefit of so little initial effort. Next year (I feel like I’m always saying ‘next year’ lately…) we plan to have a more formal arrangement for the vegetable plot, with a good rotation system and paths to make maintenance easier. Two years of living with an acre has finally taught me to get rid of the grass at every given opportunity…

Since most of the peas were starting to get a little tough now that we are coming to the end of their harvesting period, I thought we could take up some of the oldest plants and get the peas ready to be used as seed next year. We spent a good hour sitting, podding and storing. Then afterwards I discovered I would have been better off leaving them in their pods to dry! I was not impressed…

Seed Peas

Still, we had a decent enough amount. I’d say we ended up with about three times the amount of seed that came in the original packet, not to mention the ridiculous amount of peas we’ve been snacking on for the past two months or so. I was hoping to have a successional sowing this year, but with a four-month old baby, that’s proved difficult for us.

Next Year, I suppose…

