Image on Seed packetAnd so begins a new segment!

Around February this year, I was on the hunt for some pretty, and also pretty cheap, annual seeds that I could use to fill out the borders a little. Whilst wandering through the Garden Centre my eye fell on a small packet of poppy seeds which were on trial. 69p! Probably the cheapest packet of seeds I’ve seen outside of a pound shop. I of course leapt at the opportunity.
The pack in question was called “Blackcurrant Fizz”, a hardy annual poppy, and can still be found on offer over at Thompson & Morgan here. I sowed the seeds around April, and was not disappointed. The colour of the flowers differed slightly to what I saw on the picture, being darker and more plum-like. Also there were far less petals. The image shown looks like a double variety, full of ruffles, whereas mine sort of flattened out to nothing. This could have been the torrential rain we were getting at the time, but as these flowers are on trial I expected some difference to the image.

No matter what was ‘wrong’ with the plants, there was plenty right with them. I adore their colour, so dark that they are almost black. The ruffled petals and dominant seed heads make it an architecturally interesting flower, and let’s not forget just how easy they were to grow. I merely sowed them in shallow drills right where I wanted them to flower. In no more than two months, they shot up with loads of lovely minty green foliage. The most unbearable part (and I find it is always the same for me with poppies) was actually waiting for the huge buds to burst open. I remember the first time I glimpsed one just starting to split, hubby had to drag me away from it before the curiosity killed me!

I highly recommend this plant as an easy gap-filler. I am just waiting for the seed heads to ripen so I can gather them. Then I’ll see if I can germinate them next year. If so, then I call that an immense bargain!

Close-Up View

Close-Up View

Frilly Petals

Frilly Petals

