For reasons I cannot currently reveal, my gardening abilities have been greatly minimised for the near future. That doesn’t mean I won’t be able to do anything, but no heavy lifting, no digging, and definitely no carpentry for me. It’s a shame as I was really looking forward to constructing a Wildlife Post. I saw the idea in Gardener’s World Magazine. I’m sure it was done at the Chelsea Flower Show this year, but I fail to be able to find a picture.

Basically these things are made using a large fence post, sunk and cemented into the ground. Then, on all four sides of the post, you screw on different habitats. Bug boxes, Bird Houses, feeders, you name it. I thought seeing as we have such a large garden, I would keep one corner for a wildlife garden, complete with meadow. In the meadow I am thinking of placing three of these posts. If I can ever get around to making them that is. I have the posts, just need to get some wood planks and make a few ‘rustic’ (meaning terribly constructed) boxes.

We have lots of other projects ongoing at the moment too, poor hubby is breaking his back trying to get all the hard labour out of the way for me. (No, trust me I’m not lazy, I’m actually not allowed to do it. I WANT to do it. My hands are tied… although it is sort of nice to sit back and bark orders!) We’re trying to get the dog run completed (still!) and hopefully it will be finished by the end of the week. We also want ti put a seating area in the middle of the garden, near the cold frame. There is so much sun in that area it seems like the perfect place to have our table and chairs.

I’ll be posting a few photos of the whole garden pretty soon, or I’ll make a separate page for it. I realise that it may be weird for some of you reading plans for a garden you haven’t even seen properly, but I’ll soon put that to rights.

